Wood Awards

The Wood Awards is the UK’s premier competition for excellence in architecture and product design in the world’s only naturally sustainable material. The Awards aim to recognise, encourage and promote outstanding design, craftsmanship and installation using wood.

The competition began in 1971 as the Carpenters’ Award ‘for the very best work in joinery or other woodworking’. Originally run by Terence Mallinson, a Liveryman of the Company, the Carpenters’ Company has supported the Awards from their beginning. The annual award winners’ presentation ceremony is held at Carpenters’ Hall. The competition was relaunched in 2003 as the Wood Awards.

The Awards have had an impact on the architectural and design landscape, becoming a ‘mark of excellence’ in wood with past Gold Award Winners including Ditchling Museum of Art + Craft by Adam Richards Architects, Niall McLaughlin’s Fishing Hut in Hampshire and, most recently, Maggie’s at the Robert Parfett Centre by Foster+Partners.

Award categories

There are eight main categories:

  • Commercial & Leisure
  • Education & Public Sector
  • Interiors
  • Private
  • Small Project
  • Bespoke Furniture
  • Production Made
  • Student Designer

A Structural Award is given to the building project that the judges deem most worthy. Special Awards are given at the judges’ discretion. The Arnold Laver Gold Award, the winner of winners, is chosen by the judges from the winners of all eight categories.

More information can be found on the Wood Awards website.